September 17, 2021—The Miller Art Museum in downtown Sturgeon Bay is set to unveil its 46th Juried Annual to the public on Saturday, September 25, 2021. This year’s exhibition features 71 works from 61 artists residing regionally across the state of Wisconsin. It will open with a scaled-back in-person opening reception due to COVID-19 on Saturday, September 25 from 5 – 6:30pm with remarks and awards scheduled for 6:00pm. The 46th Juried Annual will be on view through November 8, 2021.

In continuation of this revered tradition, the Miller Art Museum is proud to present this year’s selections, which represents contemporary two-dimensional work from regional artists in a broad array of media, subjects and styles. Each submission was carefully evaluated and selections were made by a jurors Patrick Smith, Exhibitions Preparator at the Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL; Terri Warpinski, Professor Emerita of Art at the University of Oregon of De Pere, WI; and Artist and Educator Leslie Iwai from Middleton, WI.46th Juried Annual

Juror Warpinski states, “When viewing art, just as in reading a new book, seeing live theater, or even cooking a new recipe, I am most excited by when I am provoked to learn something, or have an encounter that is new and expected. There was much of that to take pleasure in when jurying this show. I was confronted with work that rose above my expectations, work that challenged my ideas about processes and materials, and most importantly, work that provoked me to think anew.”

2021 marks the first year that artists from across the state were eligible to submit work. The increased number of works will be displayed as a full museum exhibition in both the main galleries on the lower level of the museum as well as on the second floor Ruth Morton Miller Mezzanine.

“Our strategy in opening the exhibition to all Wisconsin residents is to offer an opportunity for growth for the Miller Art Museum and the community. In doing this, our local artists will have the opportunity to meet, exhibit alongside and network with artists from across the state, get inspired and push themselves and their artistic pursuits. The expanded scope also invites new artists from outside our region to become acquainted with our museum, meet our incredible cache of local talent and see Door County as a vital cultural destination,” says Helen del Guidice, curator.

Exhibiting 46th Juried Annual artists are: Alexis Arnold, Green Bay; Bonnie Bahr-Schneider, Wisconsin Rapids; Cheryl Becht, Baileys Harbor; Jocelyn Benford, Sturgeon Bay; Pat Bishop, Shawano; Richard Brawner, Fish Creek; Blanche Brown, Milwaukee; David Bueschel, Menomonee Falls; W. Joseph Christiansen, Sturgeon Bay; Luke Collins, Sturgeon Bay; Randall Dettmann, Algoma; Terri Field, Oconomowoc; Katherine Ford, Mount Horeb; Tom Friese, Green Bay; Karen Hertz-Sumnicht, Sturgeon Bay; Kristine Hinrichs, Milwaukee; Susan Hoffmann, Baileys Harbor; Cynthia Holzym, Oregon; Patt Huss, Kaukauna; Jennifer Jordan, Green Bay; J. Jorns, Sturgeon Bay; Shelby Keefe, Milwaukee; Helen Klebesadel, Madison; Brad Krause, Milwaukee; Guntis Lauzums, Belgium; Gregory Lewis, Mauston; Stephanie Lord, Sturgeon Bay; Janel Maples, Sturgeon Bay; Tamara Marie Marshall, De Pere; Reilly McClellan, Cedarburg; Dorothy McDowell, Sister Bay; Christine Migala, Walworth; Christine B. Miller, Whitewater; George J. Miller, Whitewater; Katy Moore, Sturgeon Bay; Bethann Moran-Handzlik, Fort Atkinson; Brendan Murphy, Milwaukee; Michael Nitsch, Egg Harbor; Tim Nyberg, Egg Harbor; Denise Presnell, Sheboygan; Anne Raskopf, Oconomowoc; Susan Reynolds-Smith, Ephraim; Katherine Rosing, Madison; Nancy Sargent, Fish Creek; Dan Schumacher, Green Bay; Claudia Scimeca, Egg Harbor; David Skidmore, Sister Bay; Arlene Stanger, Baileys Harbor; Steven Stanger, Baileys Harbor; Rob Stangroom, Osceola; Marilyn Stasiak, De Pere; Hermke Timm, Sturgeon Bay; Kathryn Wedge, Neenah; Mark Weller, Waunakee; Tracy Wiklund, McFarland; Sara Willadsen, Sheboygan; Patricia A. Williams, Oconto; Carolyn Wonders, Wind Lake; and Nan Zimdars, Ephraim.

Artwork (above) clockwise from top left: Bethann Moran HandzlikWhite Christmas Hellebores, oil on linen; Brendan MurphyNow and Then, oil; Shelby KeefeOdd Couple, oil pastel; Randall DettmannThe Price of Progress, acrylic; Nancy SargentWho’s in the Garden, acrylic; Tracy WiklundAce of Hearts, oil; Cynthia HolzumHabitat, mixed media; and Luke CollinsAnderson Snow, digital photograph. Center: Dane SchumacherHear, no evil. See, no evil. Speak, no evil. Oil.

The 46th Juried Annual is scheduled to run through Monday, November 8, 2021.

The museum is located at 107 S. 4th Avenue inside the Door County Library in downtown Sturgeon Bay. Hours are Monday 10am – 7pm and Tuesday – Saturday 10am – 5pm. The museum is closed Sundays. Admission is free of charge but freewill donations are encouraged; an elevator is available to access galleries on the second floor Ruth Morton Miller Mezzanine. Proof of vaccination is not required for entry into the museum; masks are strongly recommended and visitors are asked to practice social distancing. For more information about current exhibitions or the museum, call (920) 746-0707 or visit

Go To Top