47JA Awards1

Award Winners Pictured (L to R): Linda Marcus, Lynette Redner, Aaron Boyd, and Ida Whitney 

September 29, 2022—On September 17, the Miller Art Museum in downtown Sturgeon Bay unveiled its 47th Juried Annual—a survey and celebration of contemporary work by Wisconsin visual artists—to a reception of over 120 attendees. 8 regional visual artists were recognized by a three-panel jury for their works exuding excellence, originality and that were experimental in nature. This year’s award recipients are:

Aaron Boyd (Milwaukee), awarded the Bonnie Hartmann Award for Outstanding Creativity for his work titled Souls Train.

Sarah Dittmann (Ripon), awarded a Special Merit Award for her work titled Mrs. John Kokeš.

Claire Erickson (Sturgeon Bay), awarded a Special Merit Award for her work titled Planted.

Terri Fischer (Madison), awarded a Juror’s Choice Award for her work titled Hepatica.

Linda Marcus (Milwaukee), awarded a Juror’s Choice Award for her work titled Mending Walls.

Robert Osborne (Raine), awarded a Special Merit Award for his work titled Villa Street Garage.

Lynette Redner (Delavin), awarded a Juror’s Choice Award for her work titled Morning on the Wisconsin River.

Ida Whitney (Baileys Harbor), awarded the Gerhard CF Miller Award of Excellence for her work titled DD78.

The 47th Juried Annual showcases 70 contemporary two-dimensional works by 52 Wisconsin artists and marks the second year that artists from across the state were eligible to submit work. These distinctive works can be viewed throughout the entire museum in both the main galleries on the lower level as well as on the second floor Ruth Morton Miller Mezzanine.

Exhibiting 47th Juried Annual artists are:

Bryan Abign, Wisconsin Rapids; Jennifer Bateman, Sturgeon Bay; Kimberly Bauer, Altoona; Amy Beattie, Belguim; Victoria Bein, Edgerton; Aaron Boyd, Milwaukee; Julie Brogan, Sturgeon Bay; Janine Buechner, Sturgeon Bay; Weeya Michelle Calif, Green Bay; Nastia Craig, Madison; Randall Dettman, Algoma; Sarah Dittmann, Ripon; Hallie Dix, Green Bay; Claire Erickson, Sturgeon Bay; Terri Fisher, Madison; Daniel Fleming, Milwaukee; Lynn Gilchrist, Sturgeon Bay; Sydni Haubrich, Racine; Rachel Hausmann-Schall, Mosinee; Jeanne Heuer, New Franken; Esther Hill, Dodgeville; Lucy Hodkiewicz, Sturgeon Bay; Joseph Kaftan, Sturgeon Bay; Patrick Kennedy, De Pere; Helen Klebesadel, Madison; Frank Korb, Burlington; Sarah Kreuter, Sobieski; J Myszka Lewis, Madison; Sherri Lisota, Homen; Linda Marcus, Milwaukee; Donna McKay, McFarland; DarRen Morris, Waupun; Michael Nitsch, Egg Harbor; Robert Osborne, Racine; Leslie Paulus, Cedar Grove; Lynette Redner, Delavin; Gillianne Rekowski, Schofield; Treena Rice-Buehler, Green Bay; Katie Ries, Green Bay; David Robinson, Sturgeon Bay; Kim Rosploch, Fish Creek; Emily Rudolph, Manitowoc; Nancy Sargent, Fish Creek; Beth Schueffner, Neenah; Dane Schumacher, Neenah; Kristin Sorrentino, Marshall; Steven Stanger, Baileys Harbor; Meg Strobel, Milwaukee; Claire Tellstrom, Sturgeon Bay; Ariana Vaeth, Milwaukee; Kathryn Wedge, Neenah; Ida Whitney, Baileys Harbor.

The 47th Juried Annual is scheduled to run through Monday, October 31, 2022.

The museum is located at 107 S. 4th Avenue inside the Door County Library in downtown Sturgeon Bay. Hours are Monday 10am – 7pm and Tuesday – Saturday 10am – 5pm. The museum is closed Sundays. Admission is free of charge but freewill donations are encouraged; an elevator is available to access galleries on the second floor Ruth Morton Miller Mezzanine. Proof of vaccination is not required for entry into the museum; masks are strongly recommended and visitors are asked to practice social distancing. For more information about current exhibitions or the museum, call (920) 746-0707 or visit www.millerartmuseum.org.

The 47th Juried Annual and accompanying awards are made possible with support from DC Printing & Green Bay Blue, Bill and Betty Parsons, and Herb Kohl Philanthropies. Generous support is also provided by the Wisconsin Arts Board with funds from the State of Wisconsin and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Exhibition Related Programming
Nights at the Museum
Monday Nights in October
5:00pm - 7:00pm
Miller Art Museum | 107 S. 4th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay
Treat yourself! On Mondays the museum stays open after 5pm. Stop by after work to view the 47th Juried Annual, featuring 70 contemporary two-dimensional works by 52 Wisconsin artists. Bring a friend, make a date or take a break - museum admission is always free.

Critique Tour with Shan Bryan-Hanson
Thursday, October 13
10:30am - 11:30am
Miller Art Museum | 107 S. 4th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay
Join Director and Curator of the Art Galleries at St. Norbert College, Shan Bryan-Hanson for a critique-style walk-through of the 47th Juried Annual. Enjoy light refreshments as you explore 70 contemporary two-dimensional artworks by 52 Wisconsin artists. This event is free and open to the public.

Conversation Around the Easel: Exquisite Corpse
Thursday, October 20
10:30am - 11:30am
M3 | 142 S. 3rd Avenue, Sturgeon Bay
Showcasing permanent collection works from Head-to-Toe, the Exquisite Corpse Print Exchange Project illustrating creativity in comradery and the long-standing tradition of cadaver exquis; the Exquisite Corpse.
Did you know the Miller’s permanent collection houses more than 1,500 pieces of art? Discover them in a group discussion led by the curator, exploring the physical works, sharing information about the artists on display, and connecting with fellow art enthusiasts. This event is free and open to the public.

Go To Top