September 29, 2023—On Friday, September 16, the Miller Art Museum unveiled its 48th Juried Annual—a survey and celebration of contemporary work by Wisconsin visual artists—to a reception of more than 200 attendees. Eight regional visual artists were recognized during the awards ceremony for their works exuding excellence and originality and were experimental. All total, $1,950 was presented to the following recipients:

Aaron Boyd (Milwaukee) was awarded a $250 Juror’s Choice Award (Jinkins) for his work titled The Tadpoles.

Kimberly Burnett (Milwaukee) was awarded a $200 Special Merit Award for her work titled The Rearrangement.

Bethann Moran Handzlik (Fort Atkinson) was awarded a $200 Special Merit Award for her work titled A Mind of Winter.

Thomas Jordan (Sturgeon Bay) was awarded a $200 Special Merit Award for his work titled Alone, But Not Alone.

Beth Schueffner (Neenah) was awarded the Bonnie Hartmann Award for Outstanding Creativity, a $100 cash award, for her work titled Well, Here We Are.

Mary Ellen Sisulak (Ellison Bay) was awarded the $500 Gerhard CF Miller Award of Excellence for her work titled Artifact.

Arlene Stanger (Baileys Harbor) was awarded a $250 Juror’s Choice Award (Vadney) for her work titled Umbrella.

Ashley Wittling (Chippewa Falls) was awarded a $250 Juror’s Choice Award (Ward) for her work titled Duality.

2023 JA Awards

Arlene Stanger, Umbrella. Award winners Left to Right: Arlene Stanger, curator Helen del Guidice, and Beth Schueffner. Beth Schueffner, Well, Here We Are.

The 48th Juried Annual showcases 73 contemporary two-dimensional works by Wisconsin artists and marks the third year that artists from across the state were eligible to submit work. These distinctive works can be viewed throughout the entire museum in both the main galleries on the lower level as well as on the second floor Ruth Morton Miller Mezzanine.

Participating artists include: Nadia Alkhun, New Berlin; Gail Ann Anderson, Sturgeon Bay; James Arnold, Arbor Vitae; Kimberly Bauer, Altoona; Maureen Blaney Flietner, Green Bay; Aaron Boyd, Milwaukee; Richard Brawner, Fish Creek; Janine Buechner, Sturgeon Bay; Kimberly Burnett,Milwaukee; Weeya Michelle Calif, Green Bay; Miguel Camacho, Milwaukee; Mike Chiaverina, Sturgeon Bay; Phyllis Deicher-Ladwig, Plymouth; Randall Dettmann, Algoma; Justin Fondrie, Milwaukee; Natalie Fortuna, Sheboygan; Tom Friese, Green Bay; Richard A Geudtner, Sturgeon Bay; Judith Golombowski, New Berlin; Beth Gullickson, Madison; Bethann Moran Handzlik, Fort Atkinson; Olivia Heckel, West Allis; Kim "Kimski" Heier, Wausau; Mitchel Heinrichs, Fish Creek; Jeanne Heuer, New Franken; Lynn Hobart, La Crosse; Susan Hoffmann, Baileys Harbor; Thomas Jordan, Sturgeon Bay; Joseph Kaftan, Sturgeon Bay; Lauretta Kelley, Jacksonport; Dale Knaak, Sheboygan; Kevin Knopp, Waupaca; Collette LaRue, Green Bay; Mitch Leavitt, Baileys Harbor; Caitlin Leline-Hatch, Dodgeville; Olivia Lorber, Shorewood; Stephanie Lord, Sturgeon Bay; Liz Maltman, Fish Creek; Christine Metropulos-Friedrich, Minocqua; Tania Nelson, Green Bay; Tracy Nickolaus, Shorewood; Maxine Nobbe, Oshkosh; Kandy Otto, Sturgeon Bay; Tanya Otto, Wausau; Jack Pachuta, Cedarburg; Leslie Paulus, Cedar Grove; Brian Pier, Sturgeon Bay; Brian Pirman, De Pere; Anne Raskopf, Oconomowoc; Susan Reynolds-Smith, Ephraim; Michelle Richeson, Neenah; Emily Roedl, Egg Harbor; Amy Ross, Kenosha; Selia Salzsieder, Madison; Dianne Saron, Egg Harbor; Laura Schneider, Mont Calvary; Beth Schueffner, Neenah; Claudia Scimeca, Sturgeon Bay; Timothy Seery, Sun Prairie; Mary Ellen Sisulak, Ellison Bay; Arlene Stanger, Baileys Harbor; Steven Stanger, Baileys Harbor; Caitilin Stolle, Brooklyn; Rosemary Stuart, Sturgeon Bay; Claire Tellstrom, Milwaukee; Leigh Townsend, Brussels; Sonia Vasquez, Manitowoc; Deborah Wage, Plover; Mark Weller, Waunakee; Ida Whitney, Baileys Harbor; Ashley Wittling, Chippewa Falls; Isaiah Young, Sheboygan; and Xiaohong Zhang, Fort Atkinson.

The 48th Juried Annual will be on public view through Monday, October 28, 2023. The exhibition and accompanying awards are made possible with support from DC Printing & Green Bay Blue, the Julia Van Roo Bresnahan Charitable Fund of the Door County Foundation, and the MMG Foundation. Generous grant support is also provided by the Wisconsin Arts Board with funds from the State of Wisconsin and the National Endowment for the Arts with in-kind support from Third Avenue PlayWorks.

Exhibition-related Programming
Nights at the Museum
Monday Nights in October
5 - 7:00pm
Miller Art Museum | 107 S. 4th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay
Enjoy evening access to the Miller Art Museum every Monday night until 7pm! Visitors can explore current exhibitions and leisurely browse and shop in the Museum Store. Bring a friend, make a date, or take a break; museum admission is always free.

Friday, September 29 | 11am – Noon
Miller Art Museum | 107 S. 4th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay
Write On, Door County, in partnership with the Miller Art Museum, presents Art/Speaks, a free writing lab encouraging people to write in response to exhibited artworks. Led by poets Carrie and Peter Sherrill, the
60-minute writing activity is perfect for both beginning and advanced writers in any genre. Free; advance registration is not required.

Exhibit Review with Craig Blietz
Thursday, October 26 | 10:30am – Noon
Miller Art Museum | 107 S. 4th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay
Every fall, the Miller Art Museum’s Juried Annual brings an opportunity for the community to witness the breadth of talent from visual artists across the state. Join Craig Blietz, celebrated Door County painter, who will examine and discuss the 48th Juried Annual. Guests are encouraged to engage and ask questions. The event is free and open to the public; however, registration is required. Please visit to register.

Go To Top